Home Search Index A-Z Contact Us Portal
News About Us Academics Student Life Library Research Athletics
University of Louisiana at Lafayette Public Relations & News Services
Prospective Students
Current Students
Alumni, Donors & Friends
Faculty & Staff
Go to our new site at louisiana.edu
news & events | for media | about us | la louisiane | faculty assistance | logos & licensing
Event: Distinguished Professors Banquet

Date: Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Time: 6:30 p.m.

Location: River Oaks Club

The 2009 Distinguished Professor Awards program will take place on Wednesday at River Oaks in Lafayette. Distinguished Professor Award recipients are Dr. Christine DeVine, associate professor of English; Dr. Devesh Misra, professor of chemical engineering; and Dr. William Rieck, professor of curriculum and instruction. This year, for the first time, the selection committee’s vote ended in a tie between two candidates for the Ray Authement Outstanding Teaching Award. The two faculty members chosen are Dr. Mary Farmer-Kaiser, associate professor of history; and Dr. Russell Hibbeler, professor of civil engineering. The UL Lafayette Foundation began presenting the Distinguished Professor Award in 1965. It added the Excellence in Teaching Award in 1992 to recognize commitment to and effectiveness in teaching and instructional innovation.

Contact: Julie Bolton-Falgout, executive director of the Foundation, at 482-0700 or see her there.

Media coverage is invited. 

Document last revised Tuesday, April 28, 2009 10:41 AM

Copyright 2003 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Public Relations and News Services · Martin Hall Room 319
Post Office Box 41009, Lafayette LA 70504-1009, USA
337/482-6397 · 337/482-5908 (fax) · prns@louisiana.edu