Home Search Index A-Z Contact Us Portal
News About Us Academics Student Life Library Research Athletics
University of Louisiana at Lafayette Public Relations & News Services
Prospective Students
Current Students
Alumni, Donors & Friends
Faculty & Staff
Go to our new site at louisiana.edu
news & events | for media | about us | la louisiane | faculty assistance | logos & licensing
Contact: Christine Payton Feb. 28, 2005
(337) 482-6397, payton@louisiana.edu
Robert and Coni TrahanThe UL Lafayette Alumni Association will honor Robert and Coni Trahan during its annual Spring Gala on Saturday, March 19 at the Alumni Center.

“In a city filled with dedicated and tireless individuals, Robert and Coni Trahan stand out,” said J.D. Morein, gala chairperson. “Their contributions go far beyond the gates of UL Lafayette and have touched civic organizations throughout Lafayette and the surrounding parishes.”

Robert Trahan, a 1968 USL graduate, is president and chairman of the board of Lafayette Motors Co. Inc. He was named the Louisiana Auto Dealers Association’s 2004 Dealer of the Year and is the 2005 recipient of the Time magazine Quality Dealer Award.

The Trahans are active Alumni Association members. Robert Trahan served a term as Alumni Association president. Both are avid supporters of Ragin’ Cajuns athletics.

The couple support the United Way of Acadiana, St. Thomas More High School, Cathedral-Carmel School, the Games of Acadiana and the Miles Perret Cancer Center. Robert Trahan has also served as president of the Greater Lafayette Chamber of Commerce. In 2004, UL Lafayette awarded him an honorary doctorate in humanities.

The Trahans join 10 other university supporters who have been honored at Spring Gala since 1997. Gov. Kathleen Babineaux Blanco, the first UL Lafayette graduate to reach Louisiana’s highest elected office, was the 2004 honoree. She is a 1964 graduate.

The late Herbert Heymann, a Lafayette businessman and 1947 graduate, was the first honoree in 1997. He was followed by U.S. Sen. John Breaux, a 1966 graduate; former Gov. Mike Foster; Dr. Ray Authement, the university’s president since 1974 and a 1950 graduate; Kaliste Saloom Jr., former Lafayette City Court judge and 1939 graduate; area oilman Alfred Lamson; and Matt Stuller, Bill Fenstermaker (a 1971 graduate) and Clay Allen, who chaired the Investing in Our Future Centennial Campaign.

Proceeds from Spring Gala, the association’s only annual fundraising event, benefit Alumni Center upkeep.

The event features silent and live auctions. “This year, we are auctioning off a travel package with Louisiana’s Ragin’ Cajuns football team,” said Melanie Martin, auction chairwoman. “For the avid golfer, passes for two to the U.S. Open will be up for grabs. The package includes round-trip airfare and accommodations for two to Pinehurst, N.C., in June.”

Tickets are $150 for couples and $75 for individuals. Patron tables may be purchased for $2,000. This includes eight gala tickets, reserved seating for eight, valet parking, mention in the evening’s program and the sponsor’s name on a plaque located in the Alumni Center.

Sponsor tables are available for $5,000. The donation includes eight gala tickets, reserved seating for eight, valet parking, mention in the evening’s program and the sponsor’s name on a permanent plaque in the Alumni Center. Sponsors will also be invited to a private reception.

For more information or to donate auction items, call (337) 482-0900.

Document last revised Friday, August 5, 2005 10:57 AM

Copyright 2003 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Public Relations and News Services · Martin Hall Room 319
Post Office Box 41009, Lafayette LA 70504-1009, USA
337/482-6397 · 337/482-5908 (fax) · prns@louisiana.edu