Home Search Index A-Z Contact Us Portal
News About Us Academics Student Life Library Research Athletics
University of Louisiana at Lafayette Public Relations & News Services
Prospective Students
Current Students
Alumni, Donors & Friends
Faculty & Staff
Go to our new site at louisiana.edu
news & events | for media | about us | la louisiane | faculty assistance | logos & licensing
Contact: Christine Payton April 24, 2007
(337) 482-6397, payton@louisiana.edu
Pictured from left: Dean of Sciences Bradd Clark, Accounting Professor Dan Ward, UL Lafayette President Ray Authement.
Outstanding Advisors ReceptionTwo groups of faculty members at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette realized how much advising pays off when each were honored as 2006 Outstanding Advisors recently.

Forty-five faculty members with three or more years of advising experience received $1,000 each while 10 new faculty advisors with less than three years advising experience received $500 each.

“ We take pride in recognizing our outstanding faculty who continue to help our students each semester,” said UL Lafayette President Ray Authement. “They are an integral part of in the success of our students.”

To be eligible, advisors must have had a minimum of 20 advisees or removed at least 20 advising holds and must have attended at least one advising symposium or conference in 2006.

The Advising Awards Selection Committee made the selections based on several criteria including: assessment by advisees, recommendations from department heads and deans, statement of advisor’s philosophy and profiles of candidates’ advisees. Special consideration was also given to applicants who participated in first-time freshman advising last summer.

Those receiving $1000 awards were:

Arts: Michael McClure, Brian Powell, Scott Shall, Andrea Loewy, Lynn Bustle, John Gargano, Jessica Lockheed and Karl Volkmar.

B.I. Moody III College of Business Administration: Sandra Scheuermann, Dan Ward, Suzanne Ward, Thomas Wilson, Ronald Heady, Michael Totaro, William Ferguson, Mary Luquette, Kerry Carson, Paula Carson, Stephen Knouse, Patricia Lanier, Gwen Fontenot, Rebecca Gaspard and Anne Keaty.

Education: Marlene Beard, Mary Keller, Alice Voorhies, Elizabeth Webre, Toby Dore and Charles Duncan.

Engineering: Emad Habib, Cherif Aissi and Ali Ghalambor.

Liberal Arts: James St. Pierre, Sharon Ridgeway, Nancy Coghill and Deborah Moorhead.

Sciences: Pegge Alciatore, Penny Antley, Arlene Billock, Bruce Felgenhauer, Patricia Mire-Watson, Toni Cade, Anita Hazelwood, Carol Venable and Leonder Labbe.

Those receiving $500 were:

B.I. Moody III College of Business Administration: Jerilyn Hill and Geoffrey Stewart.

Education: Albertaeve Abington-Pitre, Christine Briggs, Dayle Guillory and Louise Prejean.

Engineering: Zhongqi Pan.

Liberal Arts: Sandra Duhe, George Cross and Jo Darlington.

This is the second year faculty members have been recognized as Outstanding Advisors.

Document last revised Wednesday, April 25, 2007 11:13 AM

Copyright 2003 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Public Relations and News Services · Martin Hall Room 319
Post Office Box 41009, Lafayette LA 70504-1009, USA
337/482-6397 · 337/482-5908 (fax) · prns@louisiana.edu