Home Search Index A-Z Contact Us Portal
News About Us Academics Student Life Library Research Athletics
University of Louisiana at Lafayette Public Relations & News Services
Prospective Students
Current Students
Alumni, Donors & Friends
Faculty & Staff
Go to our new site at louisiana.edu
news & events | for media | about us | la louisiane | faculty assistance | logos & licensing
Contact: Christine Payton May 19, 2007
(337) 482-6397, payton@louisiana.edu
First Meeting and Public Hearing to be Held June 14
BATON ROUGE. – A 13-member search committee for a new University of Louisiana at Lafayette president will hold its first public hearing June 14 on the University of Louisiana at Lafayette campus.

WHAT: Public Hearing

WHEN: 1 p.m., Thursday, June 14

WHERE: 1st Floor Auditorium, Moody Hall

“ The purpose of the public hearing is to receive input from faculty, staff, students, and community members about their desired characteristics of a new president,” said University of Louisiana System (ULS) President Sally Clausen. “It is essential that every university stakeholder feels part of the process.”

Prior to the public hearing there will be a search committee meeting to review the timeline and other elements of the search. That meeting will be held in Room 127 of Moody Hall.
A tentative schedule calls for another public hearing on the Lafayette campus in the fall. Later in the year public candidate interviews are planned with the expectation of naming a new president by December.

Dr. Ray Authement, the longest-standing public university president in the country at 33 years, announced April 27 he will retire from UL Lafayette.

Voting members on the presidential search committee are ULS Board members Paul Aucoin, Elsie Burkhalter, Robert Hale, Jeffrey Jenkins, Renee Lapeyrolerie, Jimmy Long, Sr., Wayne Parker, Olinda Ricard (student member), Dr. Clyde Rougeou, Jr., and Winfred Sibille, as well as UL Lafayette Faculty Senate representative John Meriwether.

Serving in an advisory, non-voting capacity is UL Lafayette Student Government Association President Candace Urbanowski. Other advisory committee members may be appointed at a later date. UL System President Sally Clausen will chair the committee.

A web page (at www.ulsystem.net) has been dedicated to the search. It will contain information about the university, search announcements, news, candidates’ resumes and other information. It also has contact information for anyone wanting to submit comments or questions to the search committee.

Founded in 1898 as the Southwestern Louisiana Industrial Institute, UL Lafayette is a comprehensive university with over 16,000 students that offers 120 undergraduate, 38 graduate, and nine doctoral programs. Featuring over 35 research centers and institutes, the University generates over $40 million in external funding and earned the distinction as a Carnegie Research University with High Research Activity.

UL Lafayette is the largest of eight universities in the University of Louisiana System. The system also includes Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, and University of Louisiana at Monroe.

Document last revised Monday, May 21, 2007 1:01 PM

Copyright 2003 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Public Relations and News Services · Martin Hall Room 319
Post Office Box 41009, Lafayette LA 70504-1009, USA
337/482-6397 · 337/482-5908 (fax) · prns@louisiana.edu