Home Search Index A-Z Contact Us Portal
News About Us Academics Student Life Library Research Athletics
University of Louisiana at Lafayette Public Relations & News Services
Prospective Students
Current Students
Alumni, Donors & Friends
Faculty & Staff
Go to our new site at louisiana.edu
news & events | for media | about us | la louisiane | faculty assistance | logos & licensing
Contact: Christine Payton May 6, 2009
(337) 482-6397, payton@louisiana.edu
The University of Louisiana at Lafayette recognized faculty members as Outstanding Advisors once again. Forty-five advisors with three or more years of advising experience received $1,000 awards while 10 new faculty advisors with less than three years advising experience received $500 awards.

In order to be eligible, advisors must have had a minimum of 20 advisees or removed at least 20 advising holds and must have attended at least two advising symposiums, trainings or conferences last year.

The Advising Awards Selection Committee made the selections based on several criteria including: assessment by advisees, recommendations from department heads and deans, statement of advisor's philosophy and profiles of candidates' advisees. Special consideration was also given to applicants who participated in orientation advising last summer and those who had not previously won this award.

Those receiving $1000 awards were:

Arts – Brooke Davis, Jerome Malinowski, Corey Saft, Margaret Daniel, Shawn Roy and Yeon Choi;

Business Administration – Ellen Cook, Sandra Scheuermann, Dan Ward, Suzanne Ward, Ihssan Alkadi, Denis Boudreaux, William Ferguson, Anthony Greco, Mary Luquette, Rand Ressler, Paula Carson, Stephen Knouse, Gwen Fontenot and Anne Keaty;

Education – David Beard, Marlene Beard, Christine Briggs, Ann Guillory, Mary Keller, Louise Prejean, William Rieck, AliceVoorhies, Donna Wadsworth, Douglas Williams, Charles Duncan, Susan Lyman and Adele Smith;

Liberal Arts – Pearson Cross and Nancy Coghill;

Sciences – Penny Antley, Arlene Billock, Bruce Felgenhauer, Patricia Mire-Watson, Toni Cade, Anita Hazelwood, Carol Venable, Roger Waggoner, Alan DeRamus and Leonder Labbe.

Those receiving $500 were:

Arts – Kari Smith;

Business Administration – Hsiu-Yueh Hsu, Gina Causin and Geoffrey Stewart;

Education – Peter Sheppard;

Engineering – Haarvey Ozbirn;

Liberal Arts – Robin Hermann, Lori Romero and Mary Sciaraffa;

Sciences – Lisa Delhomme.

Document last revised Wednesday, May 6, 2009 4:30 PM

Copyright 2003 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Public Relations and News Services · Martin Hall Room 319
Post Office Box 41009, Lafayette LA 70504-1009, USA
337/482-6397 · 337/482-5908 (fax) · prns@louisiana.edu