Home Search Index A-Z Contact Us Portal
News About Us Academics Student Life Library Research Athletics
University of Louisiana at Lafayette Public Relations & News Services
Prospective Students
Current Students
Alumni, Donors & Friends
Faculty & Staff
Go to our new site at louisiana.edu
news & events | for media | about us | la louisiane | faculty assistance | logos & licensing
Contact: Christine Payton May 4, 2011
(337) 482-6397, payton@louisiana.edu
The University of Louisiana at Lafayette recognized faculty members as Outstanding Advisors once again.

Forty-five advisors with three or more years of advising experience earned $1,000 awards while 8 new faculty advisors with less than three years advising experience were awarded $500. A Wine and Cheese Reception was held at the Alumni Center on Wednesday, May 4.

In order to qualify, advisors must have had a minimum of 20 advisees or removed at least 20 advising holds and must have attended at least two advising symposiums, trainings or conferences last year.

The Advising Awards Selection Committee made the selections based on several criteria including: assessment by advisees, which included an online survey, rankings from department heads and deans, statement of advisor's philosophy and profiles of candidates' advisees. Special consideration was also given to applicants who had not previously won these awards.

Those receiving $1000 awards were:

Arts – Lynn Bustle, Margaret Daniel, John Gargano, Jeff Lush, Michael McClure, Robert McKinney, Thomas Sammons, Kari Smith;

B. I. Moody III College of Business Administration – Tracy Bundy, William Ferguson, Marilyn Gastineau, Anthony Greco, Kathy (Hsiao Y.) Hsu, Mary Luquette, Sandra Scheuermann, Geoff Stewart, Alfred Toma, Dan Ward, Suzanne Ward;

Education – David Beard, Marlene Beard, Charles Duncan, Mary Keller, Robin McCartney, Louise Prejean, Donna Wadsworth, Alice Voorhies;

Engineering – Harvey Ozbirn, William Simon;

Liberal Arts – Paula Broussard, Pearson Cross, Lucien Dinu, John Ferstel;

Ray P. Authement College of Sciences – Penny Antley, Cathy Bishop, Toni Cade, Lisa Delhomme, Nona Etheredge, Bruce Felgenhauer, Anita Hazelwood, Ashok Kumar, Durga Poudel, Patricia Mire-Watson, Carol Venable, Roger Waggoner.

Those receiving $500 were:

Arts – Dan Burkett;

B.I. Moody III College of Business Administration– Lise Anne Slatten;

Education – Garry Aycock, Mandy (Mei-Chih) Wang;

Liberal Arts – Amy Brown, Do Kim, Monica Tauzin;

Ray P. Authement College of Sciences – John Meriweather.

Document last revised Wednesday, May 4, 2011 3:25 PM

Copyright 2003 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Public Relations and News Services · Martin Hall Room 319
Post Office Box 41009, Lafayette LA 70504-1009, USA
337/482-6397 · 337/482-5908 (fax) · prns@louisiana.edu