Home Search Index A-Z Contact Us Portal
News About Us Academics Student Life Library Research Athletics
University of Louisiana at Lafayette Public Relations & News Services
Prospective Students
Current Students
Alumni, Donors & Friends
Faculty & Staff
Go to our new site at louisiana.edu
news & events | for media | about us | la louisiane | faculty assistance | logos & licensing
Contact: Christine Payton April 24, 2012
(337) 482-6397, payton@louisiana.edu
The University of Louisiana at Lafayette recognized faculty members as Outstanding Advisors once again.

Forty-five advisors with three or more years of advising experience earned $1,000 awards while 10 new faculty advisors with less than three years advising experience were awarded $500. A Wine and Cheese Reception was held at the Alumni Center on Monday, April 23.

In order to qualify, advisors must have had a minimum of 20 advisees or removed at least 20 advising holds and must have attended at least two advising symposiums, trainings or conferences last year.

The Advising Awards Selection Committee made the selections based on several criteria including: assessment by advisees, which included an online survey, rankings from department heads and deans, statement of advisor's philosophy and profiles of candidates' advisees. Special consideration was also given to applicants who had not previously won these awards.

Those receiving $1000 awards were:

Arts – Geoff Gjertson, Onezieme Mouton, Brian Powell, Andrew Sammataro, Kari Smith, Robert Willey and Kevin Hagan;

B. I. Moody III College of Business Administration – Harlan Etheridge, Sandy Scheuermann, Dan Ward, Brandi Guidry, Willliam Ferguson, Anthony Greco, Rand Ressler, Tammy Ferguson, Lise Anne Slatten, Rebecca Dubois and Anne Keaty;

Education – Marlene Beard, Hunter Beasley, Mary Keller, William Rieck, Roxanne Speer, Alice Voorhies, Donna Wadsworth, Doug Williams and Johan Adendorff;

Engineering – Harvey Ozbirn, William Simon;

Liberal Arts – Charles Richard, Robin Hermann, Pearson Cross, Lori Romero and JoAnne DeRouen;

Nursing and Allied Health Professions – Toni Cade, Lisa Delhomme, Anita Hazelwood and Carol Venable;

Ray P. Authement College of Sciences – Peggy Alciatore, Penny Antley, Patricia Mire-Watson, Nona Etheredge, Ashok Kumar, Cathy Bishop and Mike Totaro.

Those receiving $500 were:

Arts – Dan Burkett;

B.I. Moody III College of Business Administration– Duleep Delpechitre, John Farrish and Johnathon Trahan;

Education – Beth Handler, Anne Patin, Lisa LeBlanc and Samar McCann;

Liberal Arts – Anne Branscum;

Ray P. Authement College of Sciences – Kyle Patton and John Meriweather.

Document last revised Tuesday, April 24, 2012 2:26 PM

Copyright 2003 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Public Relations and News Services · Martin Hall Room 319
Post Office Box 41009, Lafayette LA 70504-1009, USA
337/482-6397 · 337/482-5908 (fax) · prns@louisiana.edu