Home Search Index A-Z Contact Us Portal
News About Us Academics Student Life Library Research Athletics
University of Louisiana at Lafayette Public Relations & News Services
Prospective Students
Current Students
Alumni, Donors & Friends
Faculty & Staff
Go to our new site at louisiana.edu
news & events | for media | about us | la louisiane | faculty assistance | logos & licensing
Contact: Charlie Bier
March 5, 2013
(337) 482-6477
University Takes Home Regional Journalism Awards

The University of Louisiana at Lafayette won eight awards at the annual Southeast Journalism Conference.

The conference, The Power of Narrative: Journalism in the Digital Era, took place Feb. 21-23 in Jackson, Tenn. were in the annual Best of the South competition, which included entries from 32 colleges and universities in seven states.

Three students also won awards in the on-site competition at the convention, which was hosted by Union University.

Two of the Best of the South Awards were for first place. Ashley Hinson, a junior English and journalism major from Lafayette, won first place in arts and entertainment writing. Janea Judge-Hemans, a junior broadcast major from Lake Charles, won first place for radio feature reporting.

Jessica Taylor, a senior broadcast major from Kenner, won second place for best radio journalist. Elizabeth Rose, a senior journalism major from Lake Charles, won fifth place in feature writing.

Louisiana Focus, the student-produced program that airs on Mondays on KRVS-FM, the National Public radio affiliate on the UL Lafayette campus, won third place as best audio program.

Two students won first-place awards in the on-site competition: Allyce Andrew, a senior journalism major from Broussard, in photography, and Markel Guidry, a senior journalism major from Palmetto, in communication law.

Katie de la Rosa, a junior journalism major from Lafayette earned third place in sports writing..

Twelve students from UL Lafayette attended the convention..

De la Rosa was named student president of the SEJC and Mike Francingues, a junior journalism major from Mandeville, was named student vice president..

Dr. Robert Buckman, UL Lafayette’s faculty delegate, was elected president of the SEJC for the 2013-14 term. The 2014 SEJC convention will take place in Lafayette..

The SEJC has 44 member schools in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee..


Document last revised Tuesday, March 5, 2013 11:54 AM

Copyright 2003 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Public Relations and News Services · Martin Hall Room 319
Post Office Box 41009, Lafayette LA 70504-1009, USA
337/482-6397 · 337/482-5908 (fax) · prns@louisiana.edu