Home Search Index A-Z Contact Us Portal
News About Us Academics Student Life Library Research Athletics
University of Louisiana at Lafayette School of Computing and Informatics
Prospective Students
Current Students
Alumni, Donors & Friends
Faculty & Staff
School of Computing and Informatics
Oliver Hall The School of Computing and Informatics has a dedicated faculty with teaching and research expertise in all major branches of computer science, computer engineering, and information studies. Students choose from a diverse set of courses being offered every semester and have access to state-of-the-art facilities.


TBN, Director

Our Degree Programs:

  • B.S. degree in computer science, with concentrations in cognitive science, computer engineering, information technology, scientific computing, and video game design;
  • B.S. degree in informatics, with concentrations in business informatics, health informatics, media technology, systems administration, web development;
  • M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in computer science, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in computer engineering;
UNIV 200:

In addition to our degree programs, the School is home to the Information Literacy (UNIV 200) course that fulfills the General Education Information Technology requirement for most majors at the university.
    • Visit the UNIV 200 home page for more information.
    • Students who are interested in taking UNIV 200 Advance Credit Examination should consult the latest Information Sheet at the UNIV 200 home page.
Our Strategic Imperatives

Our Faculty:
  • Magdy Bayoumi, Loflin Chair Professor
  • Christoph Borst, Associate Professor
  • Henry Chu, Professor
  • Subrata Dasgupta, Eminent Scholar Chair Professor
  • Frank Ducrest, Master Instructor
  • Jim Etheredge, Professor and CMPS Coodinator
  • Marilyn Gastineau, Instructor
  • Sonya Hsu, Associate Professor and INFX Coordinator
  • Nona Istre, Master Instructor
  • Miao Jin, Associate Professor
  • Ramesh Kolluru, Vice President for Research
  • Ashok Kumar, Associate Professor and Associate Director
  • Arun Lakhotia, Professor
  • Rasiah Loganantharaj, Associate Professor
  • Lacey Lormand, Instructor
  • Tony Maida, Associate Professor
  • Melanie Meche, Instructor
  • Dmitri Perkins, Professor
  • Mark Radle, Assistant Professor
  • Vijay Raghavan, Professor
  • T.R.N. Rao, Professor Emeritus
  • Laurie Seeder, Instructor
  • Mohsen Amini Salehi, Visiting Assistant Professor
  • Barry Tanner, Instructor
  • Michael Totaro, Associate Professor
  • Mehmet Engin Tozal, Assistant Professor
  • Nian-feng Tzeng, Professor
  • Brian West, Senior Instructor
  • Hongyi Wu, Professor
  • Danella Zhao, Associate Professor

Our Brain Trust:
We are grateful to have a distinguished group of advisors and friends who contribute to the School's activities. They advise us on such matters as curricula, tools, and internship and career opportunities for our students.

Our Brain Trust members are:
  • Adrian Baudoin, Acadiana Computer Systems
  • Lisa Bell, McIlhenny Company
  • Ben Blanchard, Acadian Companies
  • Jay Blanchard, Apex Innovations
  • Barrett Cousins, Weatherford International
  • Mike DeBoer, GE Capital
  • Ben Johnson, Techneaux
  • Darrel Manuel, Stuller Settings
  • Rebecca Morgan, Praeses
  • Jay Pathy, HealthUnity
  • David Rickman, Innovative Advertising
  • Vicky Romero, Schumacher Group
  • Sugata Sanyal, Tata Consultancy Services
  • Raj Shetye, LHC Group
  • Chad Theriot, CBM Technology
  • Stephen Walker, CenturyLink

Document last revised August 2014

Copyright 2014 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette
School of Computing and Informatics · Lafayette LA 70504